Production

The NFB’s mandate is to produce and distribute creative, socially and culturally resonant audio-visual works that provide new perspectives on Canada and the world from Canadian points of view. NFB productions offer special insight into the diversity and vitality of our culture and are an essential part of our national cultural heritage.

The NFB works in collaboration with emerging and established filmmakers and creators, culturally diverse communities and co-producers in every region of Canada—as well as partners around the world. NFB creators continue to break new ground in both form and content, in documentary and animated films, pioneering interactive works, including virtual reality projects and mobile content, and immersive, participatory experiences.

We’re a leader in gender equity in film and digital media production and are working to strengthen Indigenous-led production, guided by the recommendations of Canada’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Since our founding in 1939, the NFB has created over 13,000 productions and won over 7,000 awards, including 24 Canadian Screen Awards, 12 Oscars, 21 Webbys and more than 100 Genies.

René Bourdages
Director General, Creation and Innovation

 

There are currently four Programs and 10 Studios within the NFB’s Creation + Innovation Division.

English Program

With five studios from coast to coast, English Program produces and co-produces linear, immersive and interactive documentary and animation projects by talented emerging, mid-career and senior creators from all parts of Canada.

French Program

The NFB’s French Program supports French-language auteur cinema, including digital and interactive productions.

Institutional Program

The Institutional Program’s raison d’être is to conceive, develop, produce, distribute, innovate and finance with partners throughout the country and internationally.

Interactive & Digital Program

The NFB has two Digital Studios: one in Vancouver and one in Montreal.

Production

L’ONF a pour mandat de produire et de distribuer des œuvres audiovisuelles originales, à portée culturelle et sociale, qui proposent de nouvelles perspectives sur le Canada et le monde à partir de points de vue canadiens. Les productions de l’ONF offrent un aperçu privilégié de la diversité et de la vitalité de notre culture et forment une composante essentielle de notre patrimoine culturel national.

L’ONF collabore avec des cinéastes et des artistes tant émergents qu’établis, avec diverses communautés culturelles et avec des coproducteurs dans toutes les régions du Canada, de même qu’avec des partenaires de partout dans le monde. Les créateurs et les créatrices de l’ONF continuent d’innover dans la forme et dans le contenu, qu’ils signent des documentaires, des films d’animation ou des œuvres interactives audacieuses (projets de réalité virtuelle, contenu pour appareils mobiles et expériences immersives et participatives).

L’ONF est un chef de file en matière de parité hommes-femmes dans la production de films et de médias numériques et s’emploie à affermir la production autochtone. L’ONF a créé plus de 13 000 œuvres et remporté au-delà de 7 000 récompenses, dont 24 prix Écrans canadiens, 12 Oscars, 21 prix Webby et plus de 100 prix Génie.

Le division Création et innovation compte actuellement quatre programmes et dix studios.

Programme français

Le Programme français, c’est la recherche d’innovation et la tradition de l’ONF qui se croisent et se perpétuent dans une approche de production unique mettant en valeur les créateurs et créatrices et leur démarche.

Programme anglais

Avec cinq studios répartis d’un océan à l’autre, le Programme anglais produit ou coproduit des documentaires et des films d’animation à récit linéaire, immersif ou interactif réalisés tant par des cinéastes de la relève que par des cinéastes à mi-carrière ou bien établis, de toutes les régions du pays.

Programme institutionnel

Imaginer, développer, financer, produire, distribuer, innover, diffuser, avec des partenaires de partout au pays et à l’étranger : telles sont la force et la raison d’être du Programme institutionnel.

Programme interactif et numérique

L'ONF compte deux studios de production interactive : l'un à Vancouver et l'autre à Montréal.